I Have Tasted Heaven, and It Tastes Like Pig Candy

About a month or so back, I came across a blog post by DivaQ regarding pig candy.  You can find her post here.  As I finally arrived home and began to prepare dinner (burgers on the grill… tasty tasty!), the lure of bacon bacon bacon lingered in the back of my mind.  I said to myself, “Self, I should do some smoked pig candy tonight.”

Now for those of you who are wondering what in the world pig candy is, pig candy is candied bacon.  To go with tonight’s burgers, I fried up some bacon to function as a condiment.  In addition, I set aside a few slices of bacon to do an experimental batch of pig bacon on the grill.    Unfortunately, I do not have any pictures of the final product, so you will just have to use your imagination.

The bacon I used was thick-sliced bacon.  This is a must.  For this test run, I took four half-slices of bacon and seasoned them liberally with Plowboys Yardbird Rub.  After the rub, I liberally applied brown sugar on top of the BBQ rub.  The bacon slices then went onto a grill sheet on the grill over slightly indirect heat using Kingsford Competition Briquettes and a few small apple wood chunks (the burgers were cooking over direct heat).  After about 30 minutes, I pulled the bacon slices off and let them rest.  I probably could have let them rest longer, but why would I want to do something like that?  :P

I took my first bite, and it was like an orgasm of flavors just went off in my mouth!  I’m officially hooked.  There are three main elements that make this great:

  1. It’s sweet.
  2. It’s salty.
  3. It’s BACON!!!

The sweetness from the brown sugar, the saltiness from the bacon and the rub, and the smoke all combine together to form a wonderful chorus of flavors in your mouth.  I varied from the recipe that DivaQ posted in a couple of ways:

  • My bacon was on the grill for about 30 minutes as opposed to 2 hours.  This was due to the bacon being a little closer to the heat source as well as my lack of patience.
  • I let my pig candy rest for about 5 minutes or so.  It probably could have stood to rest a little bit longer to completely firm up.

All in all, I’ve found a winner!  The next time that I whip up a batch of pig candy, I will definitely devote more time to letting the bacon smoke and letting the bacon rest to firm up.  Plus, there will be pictures!

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

