Review: Uncle Kenny’s Original BBQ Sauce

For diehards such as myself, BBQ and grilling season runs from January 1st to December 31st.  However, the majority of Americans look to Memorial Day weekend to kick off the official “grilling” season.  Tonight’s offering on the grill was pork chops.  However, I’m not here to talk about the pork chops.  I’m here to talk about the sauce I used on them — Uncle Kenny’s Original BBQ Sauce.

Uncle Kenny's Original BBQ Sauce

Uncle Kenny's Original BBQ Sauce

Let’s rewind back to a couple of months ago when I reviewed Uncle Kenny’s Spicy BBQ Sauce.  As you recall, this sauce was very well received in our home.  Along with the spicy sauce, I also received a bottle of original sauce and a bottle of mustard-based sauce.  I confess that I have not been as quick to publish a review of the original sauce — mostly because of my forgetfulness.  And for that, I apologize.  The original BBQ sauce from Uncle Kenny’s has been a hit here.  I’ve used it on everything from ribs to chicken to burgers to pork chops, which just happens to be today’s meat-du-jour!

Naked Observations

Uncle Kenny’s Original BBQ Sauce is a perfect example of what the majority of people think when they think of BBQ sauce.  It’s very thick with a dark, rich red color and aromas of brown sugar, molasses, and tomato.

A glimpse of sauce

A glimpse of sauce

When I took a taste of the sauce, it confirmed the flavor profiles I expected upon an initial glimpse of the sauce.  It was sweet, but with multiple types of sweetness rather than just high fructose corn syrup.  There was a very little kick of pepper to complement the sweetness of the sauce.  By itself, this sauce works very well with just about anything.  However, the true test lies ahead…

To the Meat of the Matter

Pork chops!  Pork chops!  Pork chops!  My wife finally bought us some pork chops for me to cook on the grill.  A light coating of vegetable oil, a light dusting of Plowboy’s Bovine Bold BBQ rub, and on the grill they go!

Mmmmm pork chop...

Mmmmm pork chop...

So good, it had to be seen twice!

So good, it had to be seen twice!

After approximately fifteen minutes on the grill (using Kingsford charcoal and apple wood chips), I apply a liberal glaze of the sauce to the pork chops.  The chops were moved off of direct heat, and they got cozy with the sauce for between 5 and 7 minutes.

Chops with sauce

Chops with sauce

And on to the plate they went!  Tonight’s pork chops were served with pork and beans (the fifth food group in our household) and butter and herb noodles.  The pork chops were a little bit overcooked, but that was my fault.  The sauce added a very nice, sweet flavor to the meat and did not overtake it at all in terms of taste.

This sauce is definitely a winner!  I can see why Kenny Nadeau (the man behind Uncle Kenny’s BBQ) has won awards with his line of sauces, and this one is no different!

All of the sauces made by Uncle Kenny’s BBQ available for purchase online, and there are a few brick-and-mortar retailers where they are available as well.

Website for Uncle Kenny’s BBQ: http://www.unclekennysbbq.com.

Leave a Reply

