KCBS Judging Escapades: SC Festival of Discovery

I was really excited when I found out that I had been selected to judge at the SC Festival of Discovery.  There were several reasons for this…

  1. I knew this competition had been featured on Food Network, so it’s a very well known competition.
  2. As a result of it being a very well known competition, there would surely be some big names in competition BBQ present at the competition.
  3. Who needs another reason?  It’s BBQ!
The competition was the largest that I have judged to date, so I was a bit nervous about it.  My worst fear was that it was going to be absolute chaos and totally disorganized.  However, my fears were soon put to rest.  There were 4 different representatives present (including one member of the Board of Directors), and the event coordinator did a spectacular job keeping everything organized so that we could concentrate on judging.  
Sometimes the entries are hit and miss, and sometimes everything is outstanding.  Today was one of those days where the majority of entries to our table was excellent.  There were a couple of entries that slightly disappointed me, but overall I left very full!
After the contest, I decided to walk around for a bit and try to chit-chat with some of the teams.  Two of the teams I got to talk to for an extended period of time were QUAU and Lotta Bull BBQ.  I’m sure that after a long day, the last thing they wanted to do was to talk to a judge who is also a blogger.  However, both teams were very pleasant to talk with, and I certainly appreciated that!
I’m already looking forward to putting in my application for this contest next year!
The overall top 10 results are below.  You can view the overall results on the KCBS website.
  1. Lotta Bull BBQ
  2. QUAU
  3. Holy Smokes
  4. Pickin’ Porkers
  5. Wicked Que
  6. Killer B’s BBQ
  7. Pig Whisperers
  8. SMOKE THIS
  9. Pack-A-Smokes
  10. Screamin Nite Hog BBQ
 Before I left, I was able to get a couple of photos (although not as many as I wanted).  Check ‘em out below!
Leave a Reply

